The 2018-2019 Bach+ Chamber Series

In addition to Vivaldi’s works themselves, this season Live Arts Maryland’s Bach+ Series will be exploring the impact of The Four Seasons on other composers. Philip Glass wrote his Violin Concerto No. 2 (“American Four Seasons”) as something of a dialogue between the original Vivaldi concerti and his new movements. Glass made those relationships, in his own words, “intentionally obscure,” leaving the connections up to the listener. Max Richter, in his “recompositions” of the works, has “…[tried] to find a new way to engage with this wonderful material, by writing through it anew - similarly to how scribes once illuminated manuscripts - and thus rediscovering it for myself.” Perhaps the most original of all are the ambitious concert works, Las Quatro Estaciones Porteñas (known as The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires) by Astor Piazzolla, originally written for piano solo and later arranged for his own ensemble. Piazzolla is credited with creating the Nuevo Tango style that blends elements from classical, tango, folk, and jazz idioms.

Our “Season of Seasons” ends on April 6th, 2019 with the World Premiere of a work commissioned from composer Kathy Wonson Eddy by Live Arts Maryland that celebrates spring on the Chesapeake Bay.  This set of concerts is offered as part of the Thursday Concert Series @ St. Anne’s lineup.

October 11, 2018, 6:15pm
An American Four Seasons” (Summer and Fall)

with Tatiana Chulochnikova, violin

November 25, 2018, 6:15 pm 
The Great Baroque Songbook (or “Breaking Old Grounds”)

Improvisation in a classic style (flute, guitar, cello, piano, harpsichord, percussion)

March 28, 2019, 6:15 pm

A Buenos Aires Winter

with Alec Green, guitar

April 6, 2019, 8:00pm
An Annapolis Spring

with Mimi Stillman, flute, and featuring a World Premiere by Kathy Wonson Eddy